Skip to content

The Joy of Decorating in India

August 1, 2010

The sofa/curtain combination in my bedroom was looking a little drab, so my mother-in-law and I decided that we would do some re-decorating.

In general, I’m not a big shopper, but I loved shopping for the new upholstery and curtain material.  In fact, I’ve always found fabric-shopping in  India to be such a pleasure.  Whether I’m looking for shawls to keep me warm in the winter, a sari (like the one I wore for my engagement), or new curtains, fabric-shopping is one of my favorite Indian experiences.

The assortment of fabrics from which we could choose

When you first step into the shop as a potential buyer, there is a little commotion as workers scurry to switch on the display lights, pull up chairs for you, and offer water, chai, coffee, or sweet lime.  You describe what you’re looking for – red upholstery, for instance – and within seconds you have fifteen different styles of red upholstery laid out in front of you.  You can then browse through the materials, asking to see as many other colors, textures, and patterns as you like, until you’ve found something that’s to your liking.

Since my mother-in-law and I were looking for a sofa/curtain combination, the fabrics were laid out in a special display for us – the sofa material laid over a sample couch, and the curtain material draped over a rod behind so  that we could see the full effect.

Sample curtains up for display

After about an hour we had selected our fabric.  We paid, and left with the promise that someone would be by in the next few days to take all of the measurements for the materials.

The following day we had two different men from the shop stop by – one to measure the sofas, the other the blinds.  Two days after that, a whole crew arrived to begin working on the sofas.  For the next six hours, there was a flurry of activity in our living room as the sofas were stripped, cushions were sewn, and the new upholstery skillfully put on.  And two days after that, I was pleasantly surprised to come home to new curtains that had been fully installed in the two hours that I had been away.

We now have brand new sofa upholstery and curtains in the bedroom!  It was a quick and painless process, and it didn’t put too big a dent in our pockets.  Plus, I had fun decorating in colors and materials – like deep red and shimmery gold – that I probably couldn’t get away with in America, but that fit perfectly in our Indian home.

Before...

and After

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2010 12:25 pm

    Hi Katherine,

    Thanks for adding me to your blogroll and allowing me to find your blog! I’m so excited that you’ve moved to India to follow your heart. It’s a hard decision to make. I wish you nothing but the best and can’t wait to continue reading and, of course, seeing pictures of what will undoubtedly be an incredible wedding.

    -Abby

    • August 3, 2010 1:28 pm

      Thank you, Abby, for your kind words!

      I’ve really been enjoying your blog, as well. Perhaps we can meet one day if we’re ever in one another’s adopted Indian cities. Until then, keep writing!

      Katherine

  2. Your Mama permalink
    August 3, 2010 7:19 pm

    I like the red striped fabric now on the chair. You referred to that piece as the “sofa”, or is there another piece of furniture?

    • August 3, 2010 8:58 pm

      Thank you! That piece that you see is called the “sofa”. We have two of them in the room, though.

  3. August 5, 2010 12:04 pm

    What awesome service! 🙂 This is one of the benefit of living in India. Some things are so easy…. yet other things are so hard! Nice choice in decorations, by the way!

  4. manish permalink
    August 15, 2010 4:13 pm

    hi katherine..
    can u pls tell me about thae address of this shop

Leave a Reply

