Skip to content

My Wearable Indian Art

September 22, 2010

After a recent trip to Delhi’s National Gallery of Modern Art, I was feeling inspired, and so was perusing the museum store for some prints or some books that I might take home.  What caught my eye, however, was a collection of barrettes, each featuring a different piece of artwork found in the Gallery.  I especially liked the hair clips with paintings by Jamini Roy, a Bengali painter who spent most of his life working in Calcutta.

For only Rs.  110 (a little more than $2), I bought one of the clips that has an image of three female worshipers offering gifts to the Lord Krishna.  This is a better price than you can get in many marketplaces, and for such a fun and colorful accessory, too!  Who says museum stores are always too expensive?

My new wearable art!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April Morris permalink
    September 22, 2010 4:47 pm

    Ohhhh, I want some barrettes too!

  2. September 22, 2010 7:52 pm

    Love it!

    I’m going to open an “online” store soon with items from Delhi/India … those would make a great addition!! (all proceeds will go to charitable ‘stuff’) … let me know if you come up with other great finds!

    • September 23, 2010 10:01 am

      The online store sounds like a great idea! I’ll keep a look out and let you know if I spot any other possible additions!

  3. September 22, 2010 9:16 pm

    Wow – what an interesting insight into your trip and purchases in India. I hope you enjoy your travels.

    Take care, and thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

