Skip to content

Blessings Under the Banyan Tree

January 12, 2011

The beautifully decorated banyan tree

The cocktail reception, the first of our official wedding events, was held on the evening of December 27th, 2010.  The cocktail, in our case, was meant as a meet-and-greet for the bride’s and groom’s friends and family, and it kicked off the rest of the wedding celebrations.

Our cocktail took place in Delhi’s Air Force Golf Club Banyan Court.  The 200-year old Banyan tree provided a beautiful backdrop for what turned out to be a lovely evening.  After all of the frantic days leading up to the wedding, it was a pleasure to spend the evening enjoying delicious food and good company.  I also felt like a princess in my green kundan work (jeweled) sari and matching jewelry!

Below are a few photos from our cocktail reception –

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    January 14, 2011 5:07 am

    You’re beautiful! And you look so happy! Ah! Can’t wait to see more! So many exclamation points!

  2. January 16, 2011 8:07 am

    Wow – you guys look so happy. You got to wear green! I thought you said red? Will there be more pictures coming? I hope so I can see some and I hope you get time to write more on this.

    Blessings to you both!

    Pat

  3. Sushant Laxman permalink
    February 14, 2011 8:42 pm

    Dear Katherine,

    Congratulations on the wedding.

    Parul and I found your blog while trying to look up pictures and contact details of the Banyan Tree. We are going to be married in August. Parul lives in Delhi and I live in Bangalore. The marriage will take place in Bangalore at a 9th century temple.

    Parul had visited the Banyan tree many years ago and she likes the idea of having a reception at the Banyan tree.

    Could you please help us with the details of the contact person and if possible the procedure of booking this venue?

    Regards,
    Sushant

    Sushanth@hotmail.com

    • March 21, 2011 8:45 pm

      Hi Sushant,

      We had access to this venue only because my father-in-law was a member of the Indian Navy. I’m afraid it’s not open to the public, but I’m sure there are plenty of other venues in Delhi that have banyan trees!

      Congratulations on your wedding and best of luck in the planning!

      • Sushant permalink
        March 21, 2011 10:10 pm

        Dear Katherine,

        Thank you for the reply.

        I’ve heard the Banyan tree is reserved for the Armed forces personnel. I am not in the armed forces but I am closely associated with people who do. I work as a pilot with IndiGo and my colleagues have served the Indian Airforce. Couple of my friends are serving the Indian Army.

        Parul and I have tried to look up the details but there isn’t any contact details. Incase you do find the contact details could you please pass it on and I’ll ask my captains and friends to help me with further arrangements. I hope they can arrange something.

        Hope it works out

        Thank you for your time.

        Regards,
        Sushant

      • March 21, 2011 10:15 pm

        Oh I’m glad you have some contacts who can help you out!

        We simply booked the venue (The Banyan Court) through the Air Force Golf Club Office. Your colleagues should be able to go to them to book it directly.

        Good luck and let me know if I can be of any further help!

  4. Sushant permalink
    March 21, 2011 10:27 pm

    I’ll visit the place hopefully when I get to Delhi on 26th, i’ll do keep you posted, incase I need your help, ill request for it.

    Thank you once again and do fly us.

    Regards,
    Sushant

Leave a Reply

